Executive Director's Message

Frank Okuthe-Oyugi, PhD

It is my great pleasure to welcome you to the Levy Mwanawasa Regional Centre for Democracy and Good Governance, Human Rights and Civic Education (LMRC) Website. LMRC is a regional Think Tank of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).

Created by the Heads of State and Government of Member States of the ICGLR in December 2006, through the Pact on Security, Stability and Development in the Great Lakes Region, the Centre was operationalised in 2011 as a Regional Think Tank of the ICGLR whose Member States are Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Kenya, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. 

Our website is designed to facilitate information sharing and interactions with key stakeholders in the Region and elsewhere. Updated information on interventions conducted by our two operational departments, namely Research, Training and Documentation on one hand, and Fora and Observatories on the other are made available to provide updates on our programmes and activities.

It is our hope that the Website will be useful to policy makers,  researchers, policy institutions, Civil Society Organizations (including those focused on  Youth and Women),  and development practitioners committed to transforming the Great Lakes Region from a conflict zone to that of peace, security and development.

I thank you for your visit and look forward to collaborating with you in the near future.

Think Tanking for the Great Lakes Region


H.E. Denis Sassou Nguesso President of the Republic of Congo

ICGLR Chairperson

Amb. Zachary Muburi-Muita

ICGLR Executive Secretary

Frank Okuthe-Oyugi, PhD.

Executive Director

Latest News


The International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) strongly condemns the opening of fire on peaceful demonstrators and unarmed civilians in Khartoum, Sudan, leading to the loss of dozens o ...

ICGLR Member States

The work of the Regional Centre covers the twelve (12) ICGLR Member States, namely Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Some other African countries have expressed interest to be part of the ICGLR process without being full member of the organisation. Called Co-opted States, they include Egypt, Ethiopia, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe.

Contact Us


4th and 5th Floors, Mukuba Pensions House
Dedan Kimathi Road
P.O Box 35546,Lusaka, Zambia
Tel: +260 211 237320/23
Fax: +260 211 237 318
Email: ed-lrc@icglr.org

Working Hours

Monday – Thursday                 
08 : 00  –  17 : 00
08 : 00  –  14 : 00
Saturday, Sunday & Public Holidays :